If you’re not familiar with “Dykes to Watch Out For," which Alison Bechdel published for 25 years until 2008, you are in for a treat. Alison writes,

Since I stopped drawing Dykes to Watch Out For at the tail end of the Bush administration, people have asked me many times if I thought about my characters, and if so, what they were up to. And I would have to be honest. No, I didn’t think about them, and I had no idea what they were doing.
But last week they all started flooding back.

Just your average multicultural community raising teenagers and celebrating Thanksgiving together. Whether it’s pre- or post-apocalpyse is left as an exercise for the reader to determine. Really, just click through, read it and laugh and weep and catch your breath. It helps.


If you’re clicking on this in the future and you don’t see at the top of her blog, “Same as it ever was, only much worse" from November 23, 2016, scroll down to that entry and the one underneath it, “happy thanksgiving." Or here are the direct links: